domain registration scam

There are so many unsavory people out there… occasionally we get a call from a client wondering if an email or letter is legit. When we get one ourselves, we try to post them here so you know to be on the look out – Here is an email we got a couple days ago:

Dear CEO,

We are a domain name registrar centre in HongKong which mainly deal with the domain name registration and dispute internationally, we have an important issue to confirm with you.

1. On the July 14,We received a formal application from a company named ” Honor Overseas, Inc. ” who are applying to register ” netsolutionsna” as domain names and Internet keyword.

2. During our preliminary investigation, we found that these Domain Names’ keyword is identical with your Trade Mark, this is why we inform you.

3. I wonder whether did you consigned ” Honor Overseas, Inc.” to register these Domain Names and Internet Keyword with us? Or is “Honor Overseas, Inc.” your business partner?

4. If you do not have any relationship with this applicant, we assume that they have other purposes to obtain these Domain Names and Internet Keyword.

Currently, we have already postponed this company’s application temporarily. Pls let the relevant principal make a confirmation with me ASAP.

Thanks & Regards,

JoJo Wang

If you get something like this, don’t respond, just trash it. It is a scam. More info on relevant scams can be seen on this blog- http://www.cyveillanceblog.com/domains-icann/domain-registration-scam-picks-up-in-volume

3 Responses to “domain registration scam”

  1. JoJo.Wang said:

    Aug 05, 10 at 10:49 PM

    Oh, my God, your behavior seriously profaned my work. We are a domain name registration organization. I informed you of this matter, you didn’t remember our sincerity, but investigated us, this is terrible. Our services face to the whole world, we have processed many companies disputes, so we also cleared my grabbing companies, they want to damage our company with all means. The website you gave me is exactly a good example.
    because we want to protect your benefit,and so I cancel that company’s registration,they are put the news on line to make you unbelieve us.

    if my warm heart lead to suspection,in my opinion,it not only insult my but also humiliate your own personality.is it the normal way to treat your friend?

  2. John Gator said:

    Mar 03, 11 at 2:10 AM

    JoJo, I do not believe you are as innocent and legitimate as you are making out.

    You have contacted us claiming that a random company has applied to register lots of random top-level domains in our name.

    If you are a legitimate domain name registration organisation, you are aware that you would not be informed about these requests unless they were applying directly through you. If you blocked their requests, they could obviously use another registrar who might not be as ‘sincere’ as yourselves.

  3. Mel@RockportShoes said:

    Mar 08, 11 at 3:55 AM

    I frankly couldn’t understand the English used in either the blogpost or JoJo.Wang’s followup post. If anyone emailed me that I’d simply ignore the email. It’s not like they provide any proof of the claim to the domain at all.


Leave a Reply